National Blue Ribbon Schools Program


The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors public and private elementary, middle and high schools where students perform at very high levels or where significant improvements are being made in students' levels of academic achievement.  In addition to being honored at a ceremony in Washington, DC, where each school receives a plaque and flag signifying their status, these schools serve as models for other schools throughout the nation.  Alabama's National Blue Ribbon Schools are listed below for your convenience.


Holtville High School, Elmore County Schools
Ramsay Alternative High School, Birmingham City Schools
W.H. Council Traditional School, Mobile County Schools
Walnut Grove School, Madison County Schools
West Jefferson Elementary School, Jefferson County Schools
Daphne High School, Baldwin County Schools
Forest Hills School, Florence City Schools
LIberty Middle School, Madison City Schools
Piedmont High School, Piedmont City Schools
Spencer Elementary School, Mobile County Schools
Alabama Education News (AEN)
September 2012 - Issue II
2012 National Blue Ribbon Schools - Five Alabama Schools Recognized
Alabama Education News (AEN)
November 2012 - Issue II
Mobile County Public School Principal Dianne Reynolds Presented the Terrel H. Bell Award For Outstanding School Leadership

Barkley Bridge Elementary School, Hartselle City School

Phillips Preparatory School, Mobile County Schools
Thelma Smiley Morris Elementary School, Montgomery County Schools
Oak Mountain High School, Shelby County Schools
Fruithurst Elementary, Cleburne County Schools
West Point Elementary, Cullman County Schools
Montana Street Magnet Elementary, Dothan City Schools
Anna F. Booth Elementary, Mobile County Schools
Brewbaker Technology Magnet High School, Montgomery County Schools
Cherokee Bend Elementary School, Mountain Brook City Schools
Vestavia Hills High School, Vestavia Hills City Schools
West Elementary School, Cullman City Schools
WS Harlan Elementary School, Covington County Schools
Wrights Mill Road Elementary School, Auburn City Schools
Leon Sheffield Magnet Elementary School, Decatur City Schools
Demopolis High School, Demopolis City Schools
Spain Park High School, Hoover City Schools
George Hall Elementary School, Mobile County Schools
Forest Avenue Academic Magnet Elementary School, Montgomery County Schools
Clark School of Mathematics, Science, and Technology, Mobile County Schools
Virgil I. Grissom High School, Huntsville City Schools
  Calcedeaver Elementary School, Mobile County Schools
  Mary B. Austin Elementary School, Mobile County Schools


For more information on the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program in Alabama, contact:

Ms. Telena Madison, Project Administrator
Telephone:  (334) 242-9962